2015, the year of connections

It’s mid-January, yet the holidays seem far behind us now. While my extra pounds may linger, the decorations are stored away and winter, at least in my neck of the woods, is in its final stages, alternating between cold snaps and warm air. Soon the warm spells will be longer and the cold spells shorter, and the boots and cashmere will be tucked away for the next ten months. My resolutions are often made and forgotten by now, as they often have been by me, but one I am working to keep sight of the only one I made this year: nurture my connections.

So my commitment for 2015 is to forsake the things that sap my time, and nurture the connections with the people around me.

My life can sometimes isolate my, even from the very people I live with. I come home from work most days feeling spent, with still more work to do on the home front. If I’m being honest, I could say that I allow full weeks to pass without truly spending quality time with my children. And if I’m being even more honest, I might even admit that the quality time that is spent is often done so without being fully present, my mind lingering on laundry or dishes or the ridiculous heap of other chores that are constantly tugging me away.

And to all that honesty, I might add that although I am an advocate for gentle parenting, I often become exasperated with my children, and my approach with them can become habitually short.

This can’t go on. I’ve got to reconnect. I need my relationships.

So, this is tricky territory for a working mother. We will still need clean clothes to wear and food to eat, and clean dishes to eat it from. But what about after the most fundamental tasks are accomplished?

The other night after dinner and dishes, instead of retreating to the computer to look at Facebook (again), or shop online, watch TV, or play Words With Friends, I gave my four-year-old a bath, lingering to listen to her chatter. I talked her in to letting me braid her damp hair so that it would be pretty and wavy the next day, and then we sent about painting her nails. I watched a show with her, and we read stories. Although her obstinate tendencies can sometimes make mornings a challenge, the next morning held nothing but good vibes.

20150117-103156.jpg

The lovely Mia, with the beautiful wavy hair.

So I guess what I’m trying to say is, I need my relationships, and my relationships need my time. I’ve committed this year to being present with my family and friends (and that includes you, blogging friends.)

Happy 2015, you guys.

And here is a picture from our “girl date” yesterday.

20150117-103335.jpg

Waiting for our fried shrimp.

About Joyce

40-year-old university advisor, 10-years married with two small children, trying to do it all and have it all and still manage the occasional social interaction through the wonderful world of blogging.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2015, the year of connections

  1. Good goal to set. Certainly worthy.
    Winter is far from over in this part of the world.

Leave a Reply

