The Bug That Loves The South

When I was a child growing up in Connecticut I loved all creatures.  The ones I could readily get my hands on were caterpillars, and I played with them all the time, sometimes bringing them indoors to visit my dollhouse.  They had a habit of creeping away but oh how I loved to pet and play with them.  I think their furry little bodies must have been appealing to a little girl without a cat or dog to pet and snuggle.

That changed around 1980, when the gypsy moths took over the state.

Gypsy moths have always been around Connecticut, and why their population exploded in that particular summer remains something of a mystery, but explode it did.

The moth life cycle begins, of course, with the caterpillar…big furry ones.

Who wants to cuddle?

Who wants to cuddle?

Only this time, it began with many, many caterpillars, munching on leaves, marching across sidewalks, and raining out of trees onto passerby below.

At the end of that summer, our trees were stripped bare, there was talk of an even larger invasion the following year, and my affection for the little beasts had diminished.  The second invasion never came, but my distaste for plague-like insect intrusions persists.

Now I live in the South, and am faced with an semi-annual invasion of love bugs, so named not because they are lovable, but because they love each other.  Everywhere.  All the time.

They land in my coffee.

Dang.

Dang.

They mate on my deck.

Yes, they're connected.

Yes, they’re connected.

They practice mid-air sexual acrobatics.

love-bugs

Their favorite position, it seems.

And then they die on my floor.

It was a good life.

It was a good life.

Twice a year, every year.

I’ll take a bi-annual mating frenzy of these critters over a once-in-a-lifetime bum-rush of the caterpillars, but I must say, the love bugs have worn out their welcome for the year.

About Joyce

40-year-old university advisor, 10-years married with two small children, trying to do it all and have it all and still manage the occasional social interaction through the wonderful world of blogging.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Bug That Loves The South

  1. Karen says:

    I hate bugs. I’m a big fan of horror films, and I’ll often watch them late at night when I’m alone in the house, and nothing much gets to me (not even that scene in at the end of Carrie, when her hand reaches up from the grave), but I absolutely scream whenever I come across a bug unexpectedly. You would think I was being attacked by a homicidal lunatic, but no, it’s just some lost moth that flew through the hole in the backdoor screen.

    • Joyce says:

      Oh girl, I don’t think you’d like Florida much! We get some huge critters that wander into my house. Millipedes, palmetto bugs, and wolf spiders. Although they freak me out too.

  2. what are the chances I find a little similar feel in your post today as mine. I had never heard of love bugs, have you heard of june bugs? We get them every june. I sort of like them but many people can’t stand them. If june bugs landed in my coffee I may have to draw the line.

    • Joyce says:

      I was thinking the same thing! I have heard of June bugs and just looked up a picture. They are very pretty! But still not pretty enough for my coffee 🙂

  3. Damn – it’s an infestation. The coffee too – yuck. Get them away!

  4. Pingback: Maybe I’m an Internet Troll? |

Leave a Reply

