Dear College Students: Things Not To Do To Your Advisor

It’s been quite a week at the university.  The last week before classes begin and the first week of the semester are times when I am most definitely MIA from the blogging world.  But I must bring you a few thoughts from this advisor’s perspective.

First, don’t get baked before going to see your advisor.  Chances are, your advisor knows what’s up.

Second, don’t be this guy:

Yesterday a young man came into my office at 4:50.  He smelled of suntan lotion, a tall, lean frat boy.

He: “I need to do something about my schedule.  I was looking at my schedule, and it’s just not gonna work.”

I: “Okay…what’s up?”

He: “Well, all summer I’ve been thinking that my first class started at noon.  But I looked at my schedule, and I have this Monday, Wednesday, and Friday class that starts at ten o’clock.  That won’t work.  The guys and I go out on Thursday night.  I’m not gonna lie.  It’s what I do.  We drink.  We have a good time.  I can’t make a ten o’clock class.”

That

Don’t do that!

Other things not to do include…

Don’t email the advisor, and then wait a few hours, and then send an identical email to her. 

Don’t email her and then follow up with a phone call.  She’s working on it

Don’t email her, email the office manager, and email her boss.

Don’t email the university president. 

Don’t call the governor.  (I’m not kidding.)

Don’t have your mother call.

 

Things to do include: 

Take care of your stuff early.  That way you are not waiting in line with people who have legitimate problems through no fault of their own.

Be patient.  I’ll get to you.

 

And aside from all that…helloooooo weekend!  Muah!  I love you, weekend.

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Joyce

40-year-old university advisor, 10-years married with two small children, trying to do it all and have it all and still manage the occasional social interaction through the wonderful world of blogging.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dear College Students: Things Not To Do To Your Advisor

  1. I can’t believe he shared with you the need to change his schedule because he drinks on Thurs. nights. I’m not surprised he drinks but that he shares that with you surprises me.

  2. Sheryl says:

    I laughed the whole way through this post. It’s so realistic–though sad at the same time. I hope that things have calmed down by now– though if I had to guess, I’d bet that the guy who couldn’t handle 10 am classes will be in before long when he gets a bad grade on a midterm.

Leave a Reply

