Squeezing the last drops from summer

On Sunday our children were bored to death after watching their parents toil the day away on yard work.  They scarcely knew what to do with themselves – I mean, joining us outside might have been too much to ask – so that my husband took pity on them and asked me if we shouldn’t all go to the beach.

Now, to see my brainwaves plotted on a chart as I attempted to process this request might have been humorous.  A quick glance at my watch revealed that it was late Sunday afternoon.  It is a fact that I have been working on my spontaneity, but I am not known to be spontaneous on a Sunday afternoon.  For one thing, Sunday afternoons are when I start Sunday dinner, prep Monday lunches, and hopefully make it over the finish line with the laundry.  For another thing, I am not spontaneous on late Sunday afternoons.

I don’t know how long this battle raged in my mind, but visions of my husband playing in the surf with our children while I stayed home folding laundry did not give me much satisfaction.  In the end, spontaneity won and I was packing up the car to go play at the beach.

Surf and sand

Surf and sand

Of course, the battlefield that is my mind kept a running tab of the tasks awaiting my attention …”Dinner…lunches…laundry…dinner…” while the conscious me tried to hush the litany.  I was never quite successful until the kids and I spotted the tiny mollusks – coquinas – as they burrowed into the sand after being washed ashore.  In that moment, as I watched my children watching these tiny creatures, I was present, and I was grateful.  I regret only that I did not memorialize that moment as well, but hovering over the surf with my Iphone was further than I wanted to go.

I did, however, capture this picture of handsome Nolan against the clouds and sunset sky…

photo (79)

My boy

And when it was time to leave, Mia became very sad…

Poor baby

Poor baby

and then she collapsed into the sand in protest…

She was radically opposed to leaving.

She was radically opposed to leaving.

And as we piled ourselves, salty and sandy, into the car, I felt our final grip on summer loosen.  My girl will never have another summer of her third year, nor will my son have seventh summer.  But we have fall and all of its surprises, and entering each new season as a family is a blessing in itself.

About Joyce

40-year-old university advisor, 10-years married with two small children, trying to do it all and have it all and still manage the occasional social interaction through the wonderful world of blogging.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Squeezing the last drops from summer

  1. Im glad your spontaneous side won out. It sounds like you guys had a great time. The post makes me miss the beach!

    • Joyce says:

      I’ll be missing the beach soon too, when the cooler weather moves in! This summer my girl was old enough to where we could have spent most weekends frollicking on the beach, but most of our summer was rained out. I believe I saw a figure that said the month of July had 24 days of rain. Most of the summer was a lot like that, including the last three weeknds before my son returned to school. I hope that next summer is better.

  2. Sheryl says:

    I agree with Me Myself and Kids– this post makes me miss the beach. It looks like you had a really fun day.

  3. mummyshymz says:

    Yay for spontaneity 🙂

  4. I can relate to your mind, my husband will be the one to propose the exact same thing your hubby did and at the same exact time….late Sunday afternoon! I battle with my thoughts and lists just like you! And when I say what the heck, then I never regret it and instead am so thankful for my guys wise idea. I love the reaction of your little Mia, it had me laughing at my desk, I also think your beaches are so pretty, the sand so white!! It’s cool to see different beaches.

    • Joyce says:

      She got a ton of sand in her hair from that move! We were sweeping it up at home for a while.

      I’m glad I went. It sounds morbid, but I often apply the deathbed test: when I am on my deathbed, will I be grateful that I stayed home and did laundry? Of course not!

  5. Valerie says:

    “Radically opposed” – I love it! lol
    I am very much like you in reference to spontaneity, and though I don’t normally like to sway from our evening (especially Sunday!) routine, I do occasionally do something like this post. Some wonderful family memories we now have are of playgrounds at dusk and back yard campfires in the dark. None would have happened if I had stuck to my routine. 😀

    • Joyce says:

      I’m often torn. There have been times that I have sent my husband on with the kids while I stay behind to get caught up. Sometimes I enjoy the solidtude, to be honest, but other times I wish that I had been a part of whichever adventure they are enjoying. These days, I choose adventure whenever possible.

Leave a Reply

