Can I get a Who Dat?

I’ve been absent for a shameful length of time as I worked to get our students squared away for fall semester.  Last Wednesday, just as my world was smoothing out, I got a call from my husband.

“Guess what?  I won two tickets to the Saints game.”

“Great!”

“The game is this Sunday.”

“Uhhh….”

And here is where I should tell you that I am still working on my spontaneity.  For a while I was getting better, and then having children made it worse.  A spontaneous trip to get ice cream cones, I can do.  A spontaneous trip to New Orleans is in a slightly different stratosphere.

But somehow, when Saturday arrived, lodging plans had been made, the children were in good hands, and we set off on our three-hour ride to the Crescent City.

A rare self-portrait

A rare self-portrait

New Orleans is great for meandering, but there really wasn’t time or that during the 24 hours that we would be there.  We did, however, have a few stops that we wanted to make before Sunday’s game.Our first stop, after checking in to our cute little apartment, was to check out this bar that I read about earlier this year in Southern Living.

This gem, located in the International Hotel, is softly lit and aesthetically pleasing.  The Loabar’s creative director, as he is known, is clearly someone I’d love to go shopping with, as he seems to lean toward estate sales and antique shops.  My water came in an antique tumbler, the menus were indeed attached to old Keno cards, and the cut glass candle holders on the bar were mismatched glowing shapes in the dim lighting.  My cocktail of choice was called the Green Door (ingredients: green Chartreuse, fresh apple, lemon, sage, mint, basil.)

Here are a few other shots.

My water, with bundles of herbs lined up in glasses on the bar…

photo (74)

Our cocktails…

photo (65)

The goods…

photo (72)

…and antique decanters containing homemade syrups…

photo (76)

After the bar we went in search of food, and after a little turtle soup and some tasty fish, we went back to our place and promptly collapsed from exhaustion.

Breakfast the following morning was boudin eggs Benedict, from Stanley’s…

photo (67)

And from there we went on to the Superdome, for the main feature.

On our way up the ramp we were serenaded by a marching band…

SAMSUNG CSC

and after basting in the sun for a bit, we finally made it in to our seats, just before the kickoff…

SAMSUNG CSC

…and here are a few more shots of action which I am too inept to explain…

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

…but what I can tell you at this point is that a) we won and b) I am apparently now a football fan.

Just before we pulled out of town, I got this shot of the roofline from our parking garage…

photo (68)

And then there’s this…

photo (69)

I love this town.

About Joyce

40-year-old university advisor, 10-years married with two small children, trying to do it all and have it all and still manage the occasional social interaction through the wonderful world of blogging.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Can I get a Who Dat?

  1. Wow, you have a face? Pretty daring of you to finally put yourself out there. Nice.
    Anyway, it sounds like the get away was a great time. Here’s to spontaneity.

  2. Oh how I missed you! I was just browsing your blog the other day to see if there was a way to contact you to see how you were doing! I love that bar you visited! Way to go on being spontaneous! My husband and I are planning on going to a football game here in our town in December…my days of spontaneity are clearly over!

    • Joyce says:

      I missed you too, girl! I have hated being away for so long. It was just impossible for a while there to log in and do anything at all. I felt almost rusty writing a new entry.

      This was my first football game! I tried not to let my ignorance show, and I was surrounded by a lot of knowledgeable women. I would just nod wisely in agreement.

      Have you gone to many games?

  3. I couldn’t wait for your next post. I have been patiently waiting and what a treat to also get to see your beautiful face!! What a great weekend. That place you stayed the bar area looked amazing. So happy you got to be spontaneous and have a wonderful weekend with your guy. Thanks for sharing. Happy Weekend.

    • Joyce says:

      Aw, bless you! To be honest, it’s hard to put my picture out there. When I look at myself, I just feel like I don’t look how I used to. But then, who does?

      We had a nice time. I’ve never been to a game before, and I can count all the games I’ve watched on one hand!

  4. Valerie says:

    Well, hi there, beautiful!! You had quite the trip. 🙂 I’d love to visit there someday. Not a football fan but the city looks amazing. It would be very hard for me to just jump in the car (or fly in a plane!) and go at the spur of the moment, though. I enjoy adventure but I like for it to be planned. 😉
    Great pics, btw. Fancy eggs! WOW and those shorts – haha!!

    • Joyce says:

      Awww, thanks Valerie! I was totally not a football fan before the trip, but it was truly an amazing sight to see this sea of black and gold. You sort of get caught up in the excitelment.

      I am seriously starting to think that I need those shorts!

  5. Sounds like a lot of fun. I would love to visit that bar!

Leave a Reply

