And now for a startling revalation

I am coming up on a year of blogging, my friends, and feel that some of us have gotten to know one another well.  But it is time for me to confess that I haven’t been particularly forthcoming about something.

Yes, I’ve been holding back, and I feel that now is the time to come clean.

I like old movies.

No, I mean old movies.

Really old movies.

I like movies where the women looked like this…

Rita2

…and this…

ava

And dressed like this…

Jean

…and this…

Katharine Hepburn in

Movies where the hero was this guy…

Bogie

And the heartthrob, ladies and gentlemen, was this guy…

cary4

I just love this guy.  Isn’t he dreamy?

Here he is again…

cary6

In movies of a certain era, the tough guys might threaten to “give ya what for”, the ladies might be called doll face, and even the most raucous fistfights might seem pretty benign.  It’s easy to understand how people all those decades ago might have taken full advantage of the escapism these movies provided, when for a dime you could spend half the day in the theater, watching a top-hatted Fred Astaire glide with his partner across a ballroom floor, or a swashbuckling Errol Flynn take down some pirates in an elegantly choreographed sword fight.  For a very low price a person could sit in a darkened theatre and spend several hours not thinking about their troubles.

It’s easy, also, to understand how a young girl whose life was also not especially pretty could occasionally flip to the classic movie channel in her home town and see Ginger Rogers in a maribou feather gown, waltzing across a white marble floor and think, that could be me.

And now, who can name all of the actors in the pictures above?

About Joyce

40-year-old university advisor, 10-years married with two small children, trying to do it all and have it all and still manage the occasional social interaction through the wonderful world of blogging.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to And now for a startling revalation

  1. Not a big surprise to any of us who see the picture you have here.
    What is it about old movies you enjoy so much?
    Btw, I know most of the faces but can name few of them.

    • Joyce says:

      Well let’s see…I started watching them when I was a kid. There were two channels in town in CT that played classic movies. So I sort of grew up on them. As I’ve read and learned more about the personalities of these actors and directors, that really makes it all the more interesting to me. And of course, I love history, so it’s always been interesting to me to see old fashions, hairstyles, and just how people lived. These movies have such an innocence to them. People dressed nicely and generally had good manners. I guess that sort of all skims the surface anyway.

  2. This doesn’t surprise me in the least Joyce! And of course I get it! In general I’m not a big fan of movies. I have such a hard time sitting still, I miss half the plot and then I lose interest all together. There is only a few movies I have seen in entirety. But with that being said many of the movies that my husband and I pick to watch are oldies. There is just something about them that makes me so intrigued. It’s amazing to me that it really wasn’t that long ago they were made but how different people’s lifestyles were back then!

    • Joyce says:

      Isn’t it fascinating? It’s a window into a completely different time. I know that these old movies do not capture exactly how things were, but I can’t help but marvel at how much better behaved people were “back then.”

      What’s your favorite oldie?

      • I was trying to come up with some names of ones I’ve watched when I was commenting and couldn’t think of any of their names. I know there was one with “Penny” in the title. I have watched tons of old westerns with my husband too. There was also one with Sidney Poittier that I absolutely loved but can’t remember the name of that one either. I am seriously horrible with movies!

      • Joyce says:

        Was it Penny Serenade with Cary Grant?

  3. I absolutely adore old movies. Some of my favorite summers when I was a teenager were spent in my bedroom, devouring classic and classic. There’s something magical about the older films 🙂

    • Joyce says:

      Absolutely magical! I’ll tell you what used to be on TV a lot when I was a kid – Abbott and Costello movies. They cracked me up. I don’t see them very often any more.

      Can you name a favorite?

      • I’d have to say two of my old favorites are Citizen Kane with Orson Welles and All About Eve with Bette Davis. I’ve probably watched hundreds that I don’t recall the names of, but would know by seeing the movie cover and/or actors list!

      • Joyce says:

        LOVE All About Eve. That’s a Mankiewicz film. The biggest action in his films is the dialogue, and it’s really clever.

        Citizen Kane was the first Orson Wells film I saw. I’ve seen other films directed by him since then, but could never warm up to them. I know I’m supposed to appreciate his directing style, but it seems to leave me cold. I did like CK, though.

  4. st sahm says:

    All About Eve is one of my FAVS. I love the older films too. They have solid plots, glamor and elegance.

    I’d wear high waisted pants like Hepburn pictured above, today!

  5. just like me to jump in late in the game. Already a year in! I just saw you on Caitlin’s blog and decided to take a peek! I’m going to follow you if you don’t mind. I like what I see.

  6. Pingback: The Best Moment Award | mummy flying solo

  7. I recently ordered and watched Gone with the wind which is a film I have grown up feeling that I am the only one who has never seen it. So now I have. The gowns they wore and the expected behaviour is a revelation compared to those of today.

Leave a Reply

