So, you’ve hit the big time when you start getting hate mail, right?

I’ve been a very bad blogger lately. I’ve barely logged in over the past three weeks because work is kicking my behind. Imagine my glee when I was standing in line to pick my son up from camp today and checked my email to find two new comments to a blog I wrote over a month ago.  Someone is still reading my stuff!  And then imagine my shock to see that the comments which were, let’s say, less than positive.

Shock turned quickly to anger and then anger to bemusement as I realized that this person who calls himself Chris was on such an outrageous rant that it could not possibly have anything to do with me.

Here’s the deal: I wrote a blog in which I described a scene from a really old movie starring Debra Winger. In the scene, Debra Winger is yelling at her son. I go on to discuss my efforts to not duplicate Debra Winger’s character’s parenting style. That is all.

So, if I attempt to follow the logic in these comments, Debra Winger is a really big fan of the director Roman Polanski. Roman Polanski was found guilty of a vile crime, fled the country prior to sentencing, and has avoided extradition ever since. Because I mentioned Debra Winger’s name in my blog, I must also be a fan of Roman Polanski, and by extension, a fan of sexual assault.

So let me go on record right now and say that I am opposed to any and all assault of children and adults, and I am certainly no fan of Roman Polanski, as I ponder how in the world this guy even found my blog. Does he scour the internet for references to Debra Winger so that he can assail any person who would dare to speak her name? I also made brief mention of Shirley MacLaine. Is he not opposed to her for any reason?  I mean, she’s pretty flakey.  At any rate, John Lithgow can rest tonight knowing that Chris does not appear to have a problem with him.

At least I was treated to a first today.  That’s the first time I’ve ever been called by that particular name, to the best of my knowledge anyway.

But this has got me to thinking … I’m a controversial blogger now.  I just got my first hate mail without even trying.  Isn’t that the first step to blogging fame?  There has got to be a way to make money at this.  I am just dying to quit my day job and be a stay-at-home blogger.

I was actually planning for my next blog to be about Humphrey Bogart.  I’ll be waiting for the advertisers to start beating down my door.

About Joyce

40-year-old university advisor, 10-years married with two small children, trying to do it all and have it all and still manage the occasional social interaction through the wonderful world of blogging.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to So, you’ve hit the big time when you start getting hate mail, right?

  1. Karen says:

    Wow. I read through this post twice trying to figure out the Roman Polanski connection, and then went back to the original post to finally understand (I guess? Still not sure how Chris’s mind works).

    Hey, Chris. Rosemary’s Baby is the greatest horror movie ever.

    You know, I’m a big believer in not moderating comments (except for the spammy spam ones), so I let everything go on my blog, but I don’t know if I would have let Chris’s comment through. Kudos to you for that bit of courage.

    • Joyce says:

      Yeah, I’ll be taking them down. I left them up for a bit so I could see if there was any chance that he’d respond to my fairly level reply. I know he knows his way to my blog. That stats page seems to indicate that he went to that particular post A LOT yesterday.

      • Karen says:

        Stats only show unique visitors, so he would only show up once, no matter how many times he viewed it. I think. I almost sounded like I knew what I was talking about there, for a minute.

      • Joyce says:

        Then I’m not sure what’s up. I know my stats practically flatlined because I’ve been gone, and then that particular post shot up yesterday. The views for that post were as high as and I’ve had. Maybe he called all his friends and told them to look? I feel special.

  2. Did you take down Chris’s comment? I just went to look at the post and didn’t see it but saw your reply. What a weirdo. But yes…you have now hit the big time! I can’t even imagine what you will get if you actually do a controversial piece!!

    • Joyce says:

      Girl, it was so offensive that I really debated whether to leave it up. Let’s see if I can recap. He started out suggesting that I was expressing my inner stupid c-word. Then he said I was probably responsible for making Oprah so popular. Then he asked how I would feel if a 41-year-old man assaulted my 13-year-old daughter (in explicit terms.) And while I was standing there with my jaw to the floor, he then pulled it all together by saying that Polanski was Debra Winger’s favorite director. And then called me the c-word again, and lamented that I am even allowed to breed.

      I think if I’m going to be gainfully employed as a controversial blogger, perhaps Chris can be involved in my vetting process. If a preview of each blog results in my being called filthy names, that’s a green light.

      • That man has some serious problems if he went into that much depth and took that much time and energy to comment in that way on THAT post! I am just stunned how he could have worked up any controversy in his warped brain over what you wrote! Maybe you should write about abortion or gun rights next time!

      • Joyce says:

        I’m sure I’d need body armor if I wrote about those things!

  3. I was wondering where you’ve been! Did you leave the comments up? I’m not sure what I would do if I got hateful comments with profanity.

    • Joyce says:

      I wrote this entry and then left them up overnight. They were really crude. No one ever speaks to me that way, so of course it was shocking. But I’ll bet Chris never speaks to anyone that way either. Unless he’s leaving anonymous comments on the internet.

  4. Hate mail – ouch. So, what’s it feel like to be in the big time? You and Winger hanging out talking about Polanski?

  5. Valerie says:

    Hey, Joyce!!
    Okay, well I have news for you…Chris came to my blog too, after having visited you. I trashed his comment, but in it I was called a C too and he pretty much tore me apart for liking to blog and listening to my own voice. THEN he mentioned how this must all be true (the C part) – get this – because I am friends with YOU and have nominated you for the Beautiful blogger award (that was the post he/she commented on)! Crazy, huh?
    And mentioned Oprah and other stuff too. No idea, but a weirdo, for sure.

  6. Joyce says:

    Oh my word! Sorry you had to go through that. Didn’t you just feel like you’d been slapped after you read that?

  7. haha I have no idea where some people are going in their minds. But hey, it was worth something as a) you got a post out of it and b) you KNOW with certainty that you’ve hit the big time. Only people with haters have truly made it! 😉

Leave a Reply

