Beautiful Blogger Award

beautiful-blogger-award1

My new friend Valerie honored and surprised me with a Beautiful Blogger Award. I am incredibly grateful for this gesture! I am grateful that anyone reads my stuff at all, let alone finds it award-worthy.

To collect my award, I’m told I must divulge some information. Here are my instructions:

■ List 7 random things about yourself.
■ Answer the 7 questions (just copy and paste, and delete my answers.)
■ Nominate 7 other bloggers you think deserve the award (and let them know about the nomination.)

Before I proceed, I offer two caveats: first, I am not very interesting. Therefore, my random things are not so much random as they are the most remotely interesting things I could possibly dig up about myself. Try to stay awake.

Second, I cannot nominate 7 bloggers, I can only nominate one, because several of the other blogs that I really enjoy have already received this award, and the others are male, who might take exception to the title of the award. Which gets me to thinking that maybe there should be a companion award for the men folk…How about the Ruggedly Handsome Blogger Award?

My not-so-random facts:

1.I was born in Waterbury, Connecticut and have spent the past 25 years in Florida.
2.I have not read a work of fiction in years. I like history, biographies, memoirs – that type of thing.
3.I’m a Turner Classic Movie junkie. The day we got TCM and a DVR was one of the best days of my life.
4.I’ll eat pretty much anything, except for cole slaw.
5.I’ve lost 20 pounds this year.
6.Favorite movie: The Graduate.
7. I’m 40 years old. The day I brought my first child home from the hospital was the day I turned 34.

Questions for the Nominees:

-What is the neatest place you have ever visited and why?

Sedona, Arizona. It is like being on a different planet.

-If you could only eat one food for a whole year, what would it be?

Sushi.

-Who is (or was) your celebrity crush?

Val Kilmer, circa 1987.

-What genre of movie do you enjoy the most?

Classics. For a long time it was WWII era films, but lately I have been loving the cinema of the 1960’s and early 70’s.

-If there was one thing that you could do that you can’t right now, what would it be and why?

Be a stay-at-home mom.

-Do you have a hobby that you enjoy?

Crocheting…although it’s been a year since I’ve made time for that.

-If you could invite an influential, famous, or just a person you admire over for dinner, who would you invite?

Paul McCartney

And my nominee:

LU – The beauty of this site is, where else will you meet a Scottish lady, living in South Africa, who blogs about gardening and wine? Only here!

About Joyce

40-year-old university advisor, 10-years married with two small children, trying to do it all and have it all and still manage the occasional social interaction through the wonderful world of blogging.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Beautiful Blogger Award

  1. Congrats, Joyce. You deserve it. Val Kilmer was a total fox in his day.

    – K.

  2. Congrats on the 20lb weight loss…very exciting! Also, congratulations on the award, I love your blog!

  3. Joyce says:

    PS – sorry, but for some reason I could not post links in the blog, because I really wanted to link to Valerie and Lu’s pages. 😦

  4. Valerie says:

    Way to GO on the weighloss this year! That is awesome!! What have you crocheted? I love doing afghans but they take forever. And what has been the best biography you’ve read? I’m curious!
    I loved your random facts and your answers. 🙂

    • Valerie says:

      *weightloss

      • Joyce says:

        I’ve crocheted dozens of afghans and baby blankets, some scarves, some booties, a doiley, and a sweater. I think I was about 12 when I started. I am really hoping that I will have time for hobbies again in a year or two when my little one is not so high-maintenance.

        When I had my youngest I was in the middle of reading a really good bio of FDR called “Traitor to His Class”, but then I had her and haven’t picked it back up since. But it was REALLY good. It’s been so long I know I’ll have to start all over.

        There are a few old Hollywood bios that I have read that were excellent – one was called “Swanson on Swanson”, by Gloria Swanson. She was crazy famous during the silent film era, and her tale is fascinating. The other really good one was “My Live” by Ingrid Bergman. She had a very interesting and contraversial life…you could feel the warmth of her personality coming off the pages.

      • Valerie says:

        Wow, you *have* done a lot of crocheting!!
        Those bios sound great! My husband is an FDR fan. 🙂 Oh, how old is your daughter?

      • Joyce says:

        My daughter is 2.5…also, my son will be 7 in February 🙂

      • Valerie says:

        That’s a nice age gap. 🙂 My daughter was almost 4 when my son was born and I think it would’ve been a bit smoother had she been a tiny bit older.

      • Joyce says:

        I like it because they could play together…although lately what they do looks a lot more like fighting.

  5. Congrats on the award.
    What’s up w/coleslaw? I love that stuff. Sushi I could do without.
    Val Kilmer – guess you liked the doors movie.
    I am going with the thought you had me in mind for the Ruggedly Handsome Blogger Award. So, thanks for that.

  6. Lu says:

    Thank you Joyce 🙂 It’s wonderful to be nominated for a Beautiful Blogger award – double points for being the sole awardee 🙂
    (sorry, boys! – A “rough around the edges” award goes to you all!)
    I too had a crush on Val Kilmer – but not from Top Gun, that other movie that he was in with his then-wife, whats her name, Joanne Whaley-Kilmer, or something like that?? Cannot remember the movie’s name… it was a bit of an adventure flick and he had long black hair in “Red Indian”-style braids (sorry, not pc of me to say that I’m sure – but no offence is meant)

    • Joyce says:

      No offence taken, Lu! I just chalked it up to Scottish humor. Also, my stats page tells me you’ve made it safely to Scotland now. I hope you enjoy your Christmas!

Leave a Reply

