Salmon Fillet: From Sunday’s dinner to Monday’s lunch

Sundays are a busy time in the kitchen form me, between fixing dinner and doing prep work on my weekday lunches.  I’ve brown-bagged for years.  I’m that way.  I hate parting with money, and I strive to keep a healthy diet.

So on last night’s menu was a large salmon fillet.  I get them from Sam’s at a great price.  I prepare them one of two ways: mix the juice of one lemon with a half a stick of melted butter and some dill and pour over it, or I smear it with barbecue sauce.  Last night I was squeezed for time, so I opted for the sauce.  Also, do yourself a favor and line your pan with foil:

Broil on high on the top rack of your oven.  In my oven, this takes about 8 minutes.

No, it is not burnt.  I don’t burn, I carmelize.  Heavily.

To go with the salmon, I steamed some asparagus.  The thing to remember about steaming asparagus is that once it reaches that vibrant green color, you’re done.  Two more minutes and you have mush.  Tender-crisp is what you are going for, unless you like the mush.

I steamed this over rapidly boiling water for about 2.5 minutes, and then transferred it quickly to a bowl where I drizzled it with lemon juice and melted butter.

So that was dinner, and what a dinner it was.  Now, on to lunch…

On a bed of spring mix, romaine, spinach, or any other leafy green you enjoy, add a piece of the salmon fillet.  Cut up your leftover asparagus and throw it in.  Slice up a cucumber and throw it in.  Cherub tomatos, scallions, roasted red pepper, and anything else you can find in your fridge – throw em in.  I usually will also add some type of fruit – some grapes, mandarin oranges, craisins.  This time I added sliced strawberry.  Top it with some sliced almonds or pecans if you have them, toasted if you’d like, but don’t add them till just before you eat, or the nuts will go soft.

And this is why I brown bag.  Show me a drive-thru where I can order this, and I might change my ways.  Until then, this is how I do lunch.

About Joyce

40-year-old university advisor, 10-years married with two small children, trying to do it all and have it all and still manage the occasional social interaction through the wonderful world of blogging.
This entry was posted in Quick and healthy lunches, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Salmon Fillet: From Sunday’s dinner to Monday’s lunch

  1. Everything looks so good!! I’ve never made salmon myself. I figured I would ruin it but you made it look simple so I might just have to try it!!

Leave a Reply

